North Carolina State - Full Men's Basketball
Subscribe To This Feed View All
Wolfpack Announces 2017-18 Men’s Basketball Schedule


RALEIGH, N.C. – The NC State men's basketball team will play 19 home games in the 2017-18 season as the Pack begins a new era under first-year head coach Kevin Keatts.

The Wolfpack opens the schedule with four home games in the first seven days of the season. The regular season debut of Kevin Keatts and the Pack occurs on Friday, Nov. 10 when VMI visits PNC Arena. Two days later, NC State hosts Charleston Southern and then closes a busy opening week by hosting Bryant on Tuesday, Nov. 14 and Presbyterian on Thursday, Nov. 16.

Keatts and the Wolfpack depart the next week for the Bad Boy Mowers Battle 4 Atlantis held on Paradise Island in the Bahamas. NC State opens the prestigious preseason tournament by battling Arizona. The Pack will play the Wildcats on Wednesday, Nov. 22 and will play two more games in the Battle 4 Atlantis on the following two days. Other programs in the Battle 4 Atlantis include power conference teams Purdue, Tennessee and Villanova, as well as Northern Iowa, SMU and Western Kentucky.

After returning from the Bahamas, NC State closes the non-conference portion of its schedule with six consecutive home games. 

NC State hosts Penn State in the annual ACC-Big Challenge game on Wednesday, Nov. 29 with tipoff scheduled for 7 p.m. The game will be televised on ESPNU

The annual Heritage Game played at Reynolds Coliseum, the Pack's home from 1949-1999, will be held on Saturday, Dec. 9 against UMKC.

Start times and television designations for non-conference home games, except for the Penn State game, have not been determined yet and will be announced at a later date.

For the third consecutive season, the Wolfpack opens ACC play on the road as the Pack begins conference play on Saturday, Dec. 30 at Clemson. After the opener at the Tigers, NC State will travel north to Indiana to play at Notre Dame on Jan. 3.

After two road contests to open ACC play, NC State returns to PNC Arena to play four of its next five conference games at home. The Pack's ACC home opener is Saturday, Jan. 6 when Duke visits PNC Arena. The Pack hosts Clemson on Thursday, Jan. 11 and after a road game at Virginia on Sunday, Jan. 14 returns home to host Wake Forest on Thursday, Jan. 18 and Miami on Sunday, Jan. 21.

The Pack closes out the January portion of the ACC schedule with road trips to Pittsburgh on Wednesday, Jan. 24 and a trip to Chapel Hill to face the Tar Heels on Saturday, Jan. 27.

NC State opens the month of February by hosting Notre Dame on Saturday, Feb. 3. The Pack then hits the road to play at Virginia Tech on Wednesday, Feb. 7, before returning home to host rival UNC-Chapel Hill on Saturday, Feb. 10. 

The Wolfpack spends the next week on the road with games at Syracuse on Wednesday, Feb. 14 and Wake Forest on Saturday, Feb. 17, before closing the ACC slate by playing three of its final four regular season games at PNC Arena.

NC State hosts Boston College on Tuesday, Nov. 20 and Florida State on Sunday, Nov. 25. The Pack plays its final home game on Thursday, March 1.

The Pack will celebrate senior day on Saturday, March 3 when Louisville visits PNC Arena.

For the second consecutive year, the ACC Tournament will be played in Brooklyn, N.Y., at the Barclays Center from March 6-10.

NC State hired Kevin Keatts on March 17 after three successful seasons as head coach at UNC-Wilmington. In his three years with the Seahawks, Keatts guided the program to three Colonial Athletic Association titles and two NCAA Tournament appearances. 

NC State returns nine players from last season's team, including senior forward Abdul-Malik Abu. Abu eclipsed 1,000 career points at the end of last season and has led the team in rebounding for two consecutive seasons. Also back for the Pack is senior forward Lennard Freeman, junior guard Torin Dorn and rising sophomores Markell Johnson and Omer Yurtseven. Keatts and his staff have also added six new players to the roster, including grad transfers Allerik Freeman and Sam Hunt and freshman recruits Lavar Batts, Jr., and Braxton Beverly.

Wolfpack fans can get their first look at the men's basketball team this season at Primetime with the Pack on Friday, October 20. The event will be held at historic Reynolds Coliseum and doors will open at 7 p.m., with the program starting at 8 p.m.

NC State will play an exhibition game on Friday, Nov. 3 at PNC Arena against Mars Hill.

Season tickets for the 2017-18 season are on-sale now here. Mini-packs and single game tickets will go on sale at a later date. Check GoPack.com/MBBTickets for more information regarding on sale dates or sign up here for the #STATEMENT e-mail to receive more information.


Weather
Facebook